Drivers ages 16 and 17 must complete driver’s ed to qualify for a provisional license.
Online driver’s ed courses from our top providers cost from $19.95 to $29.95.
License applicants under 18 must also complete an alcohol and drug awareness course.
Featured Driver’s Education Providers
We reviewed the industry’s top driver’s education programs, and here are our featured picks.
If you’re preparing to get your Georgia learner’s permit or license, streamline your application process by preparing beforehand. Below, we cover driver’s ed requirements, step-by-step instructions for getting your permit, and the best online driver’s ed courses in your state.
Schedule an appointment with your local Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) office
Present proof of identity and school enrollment
Pass vision and knowledge exams
Have your photo taken
Pay applicable fees
Complete parental authorization requirements
Teen drivers with a learner’s permit may only drive a vehicle with a person who:
Is 21 years of age or older
Holds a Class C license
Is sitting in the passenger seat
Applying For A Class D Provisional License Under 18
To become eligible for a Class D provisional license, new drivers ages 16 and 17 must:
Have held a learner’s permit for at least one year and one day
Have had no major traffic violations resulting in permit suspension
Have fulfilled the requirements of Joshua’s Law
What Is Joshua’s Law?
Enacted in 2007, Joshua’s Law requires teen drivers to complete a thorough driver’s education phase before becoming eligible for a Class D provisional license. The law aims to reduce accident rates among new teen drivers.
Under Joshua’s Law, most teen drivers must complete the following:
30 hours of driver education in a state-approved course
40 hours of supervised driving practice, including six hours of nighttime driving
Six hours of professional behind-the-wheel training
In some situations, parent-taught driving instruction may substitute for professional in-car training. Visit the Georgia DDS for more information.
Steps To Apply
After meeting the above requirements, teen drivers can apply for their license by completing the following steps:
Submit an online license/ID/permit form
Schedule an appointment at your local DDS office
Submit proof of identity and ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion
Submit proof of school enrollment
Surrender your learner’s permit
Pass a vision exam, if necessary
Complete and pass a road skills test
Take a photo
Pay all applicable fees
Complete parental authorization requirements
Class D provisional driver licenses carry specific passenger restrictions. Find full details by visiting the Georgia DDS.
Is Driver’s Ed Required in Georgia?
Georgia teens ages 16 and 17 seeking their provisional Class D license must complete driver’s education and an alcohol and drug awareness course.
How Long is Driver’s Ed in Georgia?
Georgia driver’s ed requirements under Joshua’s law include 30 hours of a driver’s ed course and, in most cases, six hours of professional driving instruction. All minors seeking a provisional license must also complete 40 hours of supervised driving practice, including six hours of nighttime driving.
How Much is Driver’s Ed in Georgia?
The cost of online Georgia driver’s education courses offered by our top providers ranges from $19.95 to $29.95. Expect higher prices for courses featuring in-person, behind-the-wheel training.
What are the Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses in Georgia?
What we like about Aceable:
Low course costs
100% money-back guarantee
Course access online or through a mobile app
Aceable was founded in 2013 with the goal of expanding online access to driver’s ed materials. Based in Austin, TX, the company started offering approved online driver education in its home state. Since then, the company has expanded to offer courses in multiple states and with an easy-to-use mobile app.
For those unsatisfied with their Aceable online driver education experience, the company offers a 100% money-back guarantee for uncompleted courses, refunded within 30 days of purchase. Learn more by visiting our Aceable review or the Aceable website.
Aceable courses in Georgia:
What we like about DriversEd.com:
Over 25 years of experience
Great customer service
Low course costs
DriversEd.com courses in Georgia are fully refundable within 30 days of purchase as long as no certificate of completion has been issued. Find out more about DriversEd.com courses and pricing by reading our detailed DriversEd.com review.
DriversEd.com courses in Georgia:
Teen Driver’s Ed: Fulfills Georgia’s Joshua’s Law requirements for license-seeking drivers ages 16 and 17
Pricing for the course listed above includes an optional discount and a one-month free trial of Allstate Roadside Services.
What we like about IMPROV:
24/7 customer support
Full refunds available
Founded in 2009, IMPROV is based in Los Angeles, CA. Customer feedback for IMPROV highlights engaging driving school lessons, affordable course prices, and outstanding customer service.
Improv offers a full refund of course fees as long as no certificate of completion has been issued. Find out more about IMPROV classes and availability by reading our IMPROV review.
IMPROV courses in Georgia:
Teen Driver’s Ed: Fulfills all Joshua’s law driver’s ed requirements for license-seeking drivers ages 16 and 17.
#4 Driver’s Ed Direct
What we like about Driver’s Ed Direct:
Excellent customer reviews
Video library for additional learning
Drivers Ed Direct was founded in 2006 and now operates out of Chatsworth, CA. The company partners with iDriveSafely and other well-known providers to offer courses in more locations. Customers note an easy signup process and excellent customer service.
Drivers Ed Direct’s teen driver’s ed courses are fully online, with behind-the-wheel driver training lessons available in California only. Learn more by reading our in-depth Drivers Ed Direct review.
Driver’s Ed Direct courses in Georgia:
Teen Driver’s Ed: Completed 30-hour driver’s ed course fulfills Joshua’s law requirements for license-seeking drivers ages 16 and 17.
What we like about Safe2Drive:
Strong refund policy
Low average course cost
Detailed guides for teens, parents, and new adult drivers
Safe2Drive was founded in 2003 and operates out of Rancho Santo Margarita, CA. The company has positive reviews on Yelp and Google, with an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.
Safe2Drive offers a full refund on all online driver education courses within 30 days of purchase and before a certificate of completion is issued.
Safe2Drive courses in Georgia:
Teen Driver’s Ed: 30-hour course fulfills Joshua’s law requirements and qualifies drivers ages 16 and 17 for a provisional Class D license.
Georgia Department of Driver Services Contact Information and Resources
Find detailed information on Georgia learner permits, Class D licenses, accredited traffic schools and related topics on the Georgia DDS website. You can find a local DDS office here and can reach the DDS helpline by calling 678-413-8400 Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. through 5 p.m. (EST).
Here are a few frequently asked questions that could be helpful as you consider the best online driver’s ed courses in Georgia.
Can you take driver’s ed online in the state of Georgia?
Yes, there are many DDS-approved online courses available in Georgia to help young drivers satisfy the requirements of Joshua’s law. Teens may need to complete professional driving instruction at a separate school.
Is online driver’s ed legit in Georgia?
Courses offered by the providers on our list carry approval from Georgia’s Department of Driver Services. Visit the Georgia DDS website for more information about certified driver education schools.
When can you start driver’s ed in Georgia?
Teens can begin driver’s education and become eligible for their learner’s permit at age 15. Completion of driver’s education does not become required until teens ages 16 or 17 seek to upgrade from permit to provisional license.
With so many online driver’s ed courses available, we work hard to identify the highest quality providers. Our goal is to provide reviews that are accurate, trustworthy, and helpful to our readers.
Using data from consumer reviews, we first identified a set of minimum requirements for each driver’s ed course provider. To be included in our ranking each provider must have:
Self-paced, online courses
Courses available in at least two states
An active Better Business Bureau (BBB) profile
Active reviews on Google, Yelp, and/or Trustpilot
A majority of DMV-approved courses in the states in which they operate
After selecting providers that meet our minimum requirements, we conducted extensive research and identified the following key metrics to rank the best online driver’s ed courses for 2023.
Accessibility (20%): Our methodology rewards programs that are low-cost, self-paced, and approved in the majority of states where they operate. These metrics identify programs that are accessible for more people.
Quality (30%): We take a close look at each provider’s availability and caliber of customer support as well as the number of years they’ve been in business. We reward providers who offer money back guarantees and optional behind-the-wheel courses.
Reputation (50%): We evaluate hundreds of online reviews—on BBB, Google, Trustpilot, and Yelp—to determine a program’s standing with its current and former customers.