Ready to get a Florida learner’s license or Class E license? We’ll show you what you need to know to get started, including driver’s ed requirements, step-by-step instructions on how to get your license, and the best online driver’s ed courses in the state.
Complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, sometimes called the Florida Drug and Alcohol course or D.A.T.A.
Once these conditions have been met, teens and their parents can visit a local FLHSMV office to:
Submit proof of TLSAE course completion
Submit proof of identity, social security number, and residential address
Pass vision and hearing tests
Pass Class E Knowledge Exam
Pay all applicable fees
The Florida Class E Knowledge Exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions and requires a score of 80% or higher to pass.
Florida Class E License
New drivers can apply for a Class E driver’s license beginning at age 16. With a Class E license, drivers aged 16 may not drive between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. and drivers aged 17 may not drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 or driving to/from work.
To be eligible for a Class E driver’s license, teens under 18 must:
Hold a learner’s license for at least one year
Complete at least 50 hours of driving practice with 10 hours at night
Florida requires new teen drivers between the ages of 15 and 18 to take the TLSAE course before applying for a learner’s license or Class E license. This course is also known as the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course or the Florida Drug, Alcohol, and Traffic Awareness course.
How Long is Driver’s Ed in Florida?
The Florida TLSAE course required for minors is four hours long. Once you have successfully completed the course and gotten a learner’s license, new drivers must hold a learner’s license for one year and complete supervised driving requirements before becoming eligible for a Class E license.
How Much is Driver’s Ed in Florida?
Florida driver’s ed courses offered by our top providers range from $15 to $39.95. Higher-priced courses often include the TLSAE course and the online official permit exam.
What are the Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses in Florida?
What we like about Aceable:
Easy-to-use mobile app
Average course cost of $46.77
Excellent customer service and 100% money-back guarantee
Aceable was founded in 2013 with the goal of expanding online access to driver’s ed materials. Based in Austin, TX, the company started offering approved online driver education in its home state. Since then, the company has expanded to offer courses in multiple states and an easy-to-use mobile app.
For those unsatisfied with their Aceable online driver education experience, the company offers a 100% money-back guarantee for uncompleted courses, refunded within 30 days of purchase. Learn more by visiting our Aceable review or the Aceable website today.
Aceable courses in Florida:
Teen Drug and Alcohol Course: Meets all requirements of Florida TLSAE courses for teens between 15 and 18 years of age.
Florida Permit Test: Teens who have completed the Florida TLSAE course can skip the wait and complete the permit test online. Aceable offers the TLSAE course and permit test as a combo package or individually.
What we like about DriversEd.com:
25 years of experience
Average course cost of $58.15
Fast reporting to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
DriversEd.com was founded in 1997. Based out of Houston, TX, the company boasts excellent online reviews and easy-to-understand course content.
DriversEd.com courses in Florida are fully refundable within 30 days of purchase as long as no certificate of completion has been issued. Find out more about DriversEd.com courses and pricing by reading our detailed DriversEd.com review.
DriversEd.com courses in Florida:
Florida Online Course and Permit Test: Fulfills Florida TLSAE requirements for new drivers between ages 15 and 18. Includes 50 free practice permit tests and the official permit test.
What we like about IMPROV:
24/7 customer support
Average course cost of $43.68
Interactive and comedic lessons
Founded in 2009, IMPROV is based in Los Angeles, CA. Customer feedback for IMPROV highlights engaging lessons, affordable course prices, and outstanding customer service.
Improv offers a full refund of course fees as long as no certificate of completion has been issued. Find out more about IMPROV classes and availability by reading our IMPROV review.
IMPROV courses in Florida:
Drug and Alcohol Course: Fulfills TLSAE course requirements for new drivers between ages 15 ad 18.
Permit Test: Allows teens to take the Florida permit test online. IMPROV offers a package with both course and test as well as each individually.
#4 Drivers Ed Direct
What we like about Drivers Ed Direct:
Average course cost of $67.68
Online video library for extra studying
Excellent customer reviews on multiple platforms
Drivers Ed Direct was founded in 2006 and now operates out of Chatsworth, CA. The company partners with iDriveSafely and other well-known providers to offer courses in more locations. Customers note an easy signup process and excellent customer service.
Drivers Ed Direct’s teen driver’s ed courses are fully online, with behind-the-wheel lessons available in California only. Learn more by reading our in-depth Drivers Ed Direct review.
Drivers Ed Direct courses in Florida:
Online D.A.T.A. Course: Meets Florida TLSAE requirements for new drivers between ages 15 and 18.
Florida Online Learner Permit Exam: Allows teen drivers ages 15 to 18 to complete the permit exam without visiting the FLHSMV.
What we like about Safe2Drive:
Strong refund policy
Average course cost of $49.60
Clear guides for teens, parents, and new adult drivers
Safe2Drive was founded in 2003 and operates out of Rancho Santo Margarita, CA. The company has positive reviews on Yelp and Google, with an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.
Safe2Drive offers a full refund on all online courses within 30 days of purchase and before a certificate of completion is issued.
Safe2Drive courses in Florida:
Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education: Meets state course requirements for new Florida drivers between ages 15 and 18.
Florida Permit Test: Allows teens ages 15 to 18 to skip the FLHSMV and take their permit test online. Safe2Drive offers packages that include course or test only as well as combination packages.
Florida DHSMV Contact Information & Resources
Learn more about Florida learner’s and Class E license requirements, driver’s ed, and more by visiting the Florida DHSMV website. For direct answers to your questions, reach out to the Florida DHSMV Customer Service Center Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. through 5 p.m. (EST) at 850-617-2000.
Frequently Asked Questions About Online Driver’s Ed in Florida
Is driver’s ed free in Florida?
Florida driver’s ed courses offered by our top providers range from $15 to $39.95. Higher-priced courses often include the TLSAE course and the online official permit exam. Check with your course provider for current course cost information.
Can you take driver’s ed online in Florida?
Yes, teens can take the Florida TLSAE course online before taking their permit test. Most online TLSAE course providers also offer the permit test online and combination course and permit packages.
Is online driver’s ed legit in Florida?
Courses offered by providers on this list are approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Online permit tests offered by providers on this page replace in-office testing.
When can you start driver’s ed in Florida?
Florida teens can take the TLSAE course beginning at 14-and-a-half and become eligible to apply for a learner’s license at 15.
With so many online driver’s ed courses available, we work hard to identify the highest quality providers. Our goal is to provide reviews that are accurate, trustworthy, and helpful to our readers.
Using data from consumer reviews, we first identified a set of minimum requirements for each driver’s ed course provider. To be included in our ranking each provider must have:
Self-paced, online courses
Courses available in at least two states
An active Better Business Bureau (BBB) profile
Active reviews on Google, Yelp, and/or Trustpilot
A majority of DMV-approved courses in the states in which they operate
After selecting providers that meet our minimum requirements, we conducted extensive research and identified the following key metrics to rank the best online driver’s ed courses for 2023.
Accessibility (20%): Our methodology rewards programs that are low-cost, self-paced, and approved in the majority of states where they operate. These metrics identify programs that are accessible for more people.
Quality (30%): We take a close look at each provider’s availability and caliber of customer support as well as the number of years they’ve been in business. We reward providers who offer money back guarantees and optional behind-the-wheel courses.
Reputation (50%): We evaluate hundreds of online reviews—on BBB, Google, Trustpilot, and Yelp—to determine a program’s standing with its current and former customers.