Jaguar Classic Announces Jaguar XKSS Continuation Model

How Jaguar Classic came to light is a story as interesting as the brand itself.

In 2015, the Lightweight E-type became the first continuation model produced by Jaguar Classic. Stratstone Jaguar London owns Lightweight E-type chassis number 15, which will make its debut at the Le Mans Classic Circuit de la Sarthe on Saturday July 9th.

Interesting enough, Lightweight E-type chassis number 15 is one of the famous “Missing Six.” The Lightweight E-type originated in February 1963 for the intended 18-car “Special GT E-type” project.

Even more interesting, only 12 were delivered by the Browns Lane competitions department between 1963 and 1964. This discrepancy gave rise to the infamous “Missing Six” story. Yet, these missing chassis numbers – 13 to 18 – resurfaced in 2014, sparking the launch of Jaguar Classic.

XKSS Returns

Jaguar Classic recently announced the world debut of the continuation Jaguar XKSS. The unveiling will coincide with the opening of the Los Angeles Auto Show this fall. Production of this exclusive Jaguar will be limited to just nine. Each will be hand-crafted by Jaguar Classic technicians and manufactured to the exact specification as those first produced in 1957.

Jaguar originally designed the XKSS as a road version of the Le Mans winning D-type.

The ones built in ’57 were intended for the United States, but some were lost during the Browns Lane fire, a significant moment in Jaguar history. 59 years later, Jaguar is building the nine “lost” XKSS cars for elite collectors and customers.

Like the Lightweight E-type, the rare XKSS models are expected to build on Jaguar’s legacy.

“The continuation XKSS reaffirms our commitment to nurture the passion and enthusiasm for Jaguar’s illustrious past by offering exceptional cars, services, parts and experiences,” said Tim Hannig, Director of Jaguar Land Rover Classic.

All nine Jaguar XKSS continuation models are spoken for.

*Carl Anthony is Managing Editor of Automoblog and resides in Detroit, Michigan.